Home » About » Board of Directors

Board of Directors


Nicolette Uma Smith, Chair 

As a physiotherapist delivering therapy to patients in their homes for 30 years, I walked beside many families coping with the difficulties of cancer. This led me to an active role with Hospice Dufferin, volunteering as a one on one visitor, helping training volunteers and as Chairperson of the board. While I was in that position, we bought a house where we were able to make a variety of activities available for our members, much like here at GBCSC.

Martin and I retired up here in 2009, and have been amazed at the welcoming community we discovered. I was delighted to be asked to serve on this board, and have also appreciated the opportunity to lead some courses at the centre. We recently completed “The Healing Journey”, and I look forward to share it again with a new group.

My only regret about living here is that I have a very dear friend in the Orangeville area who is dealing with stage four lung cancer. I would like to be able to see her everyday but at least we are able to connect through the magic of skype, between my visits.

Lana Lyons, Vice Chair

Dawn Jones, Treasurer

Whitney Faragher, Board Member 


I have lived in Midland for majority of my life, leaving for a short stint to complete my undergraduate studies at Brock University in Community health sciences and then Conestoga College to complete my Nursing degree.

I am currently a Registered Practical Nurse with Bayshore Home Health.

My partner and I love to support the centre in various ways. Before joining the board of directors I enjoyed volunteering, advertising and even joining in on programs at GBCSC with my grandmother who is now 5 years cancer free after having breast cancer. The benefits of the GBCSC I see personally through my family members and professionally through my clients who are battling and have battled. These examples speak for themselves in terms of how important the centre is to me and how passionate I am on giving back.

George Cornell, Board Member

Mike Dupuis, Board Member

Don Chapman, Board Member

Sandra Baldwin, Board Member